The 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup is expected to be held in June 2017 in Russia, as a prelude to the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

About the Cup

The FIFA Confederations Cup is an association football tournament for national teams, currently held every four years by FIFA. It is contested by the holders of each of the six FIFA confederation championships (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC), along with the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, to bring the number of teams up to eight.

Team Confederation Qualification Date of qualification secured Participation
Russia UEFA 2018 FIFA World Cup host 2 December 2010 1st
TBD TBD 2014 FIFA World Cup winner 13 July 2014 TBD
TBD CONMEBOL 2015 Copa América winner TBD TBD
TBD AFC 2015 AFC Asian Cup winner 26 January 2015 TBD
TBD CAF 2017 Africa Cup of Nationswinner TBD TBD
TBD UEFA UEFA Euro 2016 winner 3 July 2016 TBD
TBD OFC 2016 OFC Nations Cup winner TBD TBD

History and details

The tournament was originally organised by and held in Saudi Arabia and called the King Fahd Cup(Confederations Winners Cup or Intercontinental Championship), contested in 1992 and 1995 by the Saudi national side and some continental champions. In 1997, FIFA took over the organisation of the tournament, named it the FIFA Confederations Cup and staged the competition every two years.

Since 2005, it has been held every four years, in the year prior to each World Cup in the host country of the forthcoming World Cup. Considered a dress-rehearsal for the World Cup it precedes, it uses around half of the stadia intended for use at the following year’s competition and gives the host nation, who qualifies for that tournament automatically, experience at a high level of competition during two years of otherwise friendlies. At the same time, participation was made optional for the South American and European champions.


Four cities will serve as the venues for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup.

Moscow, Luzhniki Stadium
Capacity: 89,318 (upgraded)

Saint Petersburg, New Zenit Stadium
Capacity: 69,500 (new stadium)

Kazan, Rubin Stadium
Capacity: 45,000-60 000 (new stadium)

Sochi, Fisht Olympic Stadium
Capacity: 47,659 (new stadium)

All four venues will also be used for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.